www.barry.ie

jobs | tips | news

Some additional configuration of MS Office 2010 and Windows 7

Hi everyone, I got a new machine in work yesterday and found a few of the new features of MS Office 2010 and Windows 7 not to my taste, so I switched them off (and added one to outlook). I thought I would share this with you all, as you may find it useful.

Let me know what you customise any time you get a new machine or do a reinstall of your OS!

1. Spellchecker
I turned on “Always spellcheck before sending” in my Outlook options

2. Outlook Connector
I Installed the outlook connector for linkedin which you can get here: http://www.linkedin.com/outlook.

3. Turn off .docx
As lot of people still cannot (or will not) open the new “docx” format in MS Word, so I set my default in MS word to “.doc”. To do this, in MS Word, go to File – Save As, and then click the Tools option near the Save button, and then select Save Options.In the dialog that appears (screenshot 4) select Word 97-2003 document and click ok

4. Turn Off Transparency
If like me, you don’t like transparency effect of Windows 7 you can turn it off by going to control panel – appearance and personalisation – change windows glass colour and untick Enable transparency.


5. Recent File Lists
I put my recent files back in MS Office. By default, you have to click on Recent in the file menu to see them (red arrow). To cut this step out, click the checkbox beside Quickly access this number of Recent documents and select the number you would like to view (yellow arrow) and it will be like it was before.

Did you find this useful? Let me know what you customise any time you get a new machine or do a reinstall of your OS!

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

